The forbidden fruit of Audrey II

When I was nine, I desperately wanted to see Little Shop of Horrors. I grew up in Canada, and the film was rated Mature by the Alberta ratings board which meant you had to be 14 to see it on your own or with an adult 18 or older. Despite repeated demands (read: whining sessions) my father would not relent–I would not be visiting the Little Shop anytime soon.

The big reason I wanted to see it was because it was directed by Frank Oz, the man who performed Miss Piggy, Fozzie Bear, Cookie Monster and Yoda. The Muppets shaped so much of my personality (made me weird), and anyone and anything associated with the Muppets was meant to be viewed by my nine year-old self. (The giant plant, Audrey II, was made by Jim Henson’s Creature Shop.)

Whining and begging wasn’t making any headway with dad (who, just a year or two later, became quite hands-off with my movie viewing habits, ironically), so my nine year-old self came up with Plan B: Make my own Little Shop of Horrors poster!

I presented my poster to my dad. Audrey II was prominently displayed, as were cast members Rick Moranis, Ellen Greene and Steve Martin. (Vincent Gardenia, who played Mr. Mushnik, was absent because I couldn’t spell his name.) I think I even made a ratings box that said “PG-9.” Surely, with the hand-drawn movie art and new rating Dad would finally buckle.

No dice. He didn’t budge. And I didn’t have a Plan C.

He did, however, allow me to buy the comic book adaptation.

Little Shop Comic Book

A while later I went (was forced to go) on a Scouting day hike. (I can go into my childhood contempt for the Scouting program, but this is a movie blog.) While I was enjoying nature (missing television), my family rented some videos.

And what was the video my dad let the whole family watch? That’s right, Little Shop of Horrors! I didn’t even get a chance to watch it–the videos returned that day. (Side note: who returns their video rentals the same day they rent them?)

The rest of the story: I eventually saw Little Shop and loved it. There are only two musicals I absolutely love, and it’s one of them. (I’ll let you know about my other favorite musical some other time.)

And I never really harbored any ill will towards my dad; after all, he let me watch Die Hard for my eleventh birthday.

And the comic book adaptation? Who cares? I hate comic books.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “The forbidden fruit of Audrey II”

  1. Theresa Says:

    thank you for your posts. i love them.

  2. Miss Berrie Says:

    Your 9-year-old self sounds like a fascinating character.

  3. Craig Says:

    Wow, I’ve Been lookin 2 get the comic ver

    Where did u get it?

    U Still Got It?

    If U Don’t Want It Can U Put It On Ebay So I Can Buy it?

  4. yikbo Says:

    Sorry, Craig. I no longer possess the comic book. I did, however, find a place where you could purchase it: http://www.milehighcomics.com/cgi-bin/backissue.cgi?action=list&title=48604536610&snumber=1

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

